Sudanese President, Salva Kiir, sacks 15 Officials


President Salva Kiir Mayardit has sacked at least 15 senior state government officials in a mini reshuffle across two states of Unity and Jonglei.

This was announced via the presidential decrees read out on the state-own South Sudan Broadcasting Corporation (SSBC).

In Jonglei, the president revoked the appointment of the state speaker of parliament Amer Ateny Alier who was appointed on the ticket of the main armed opposition Sudan People’s Liberation Movement in Opposition (SPLM-IO) when the state law-making body was reconstituted in November 2021.

The president did not immediately appoint a replacement for the top state lawmaker.

In separate presidential decrees, Kiir removed John Chatim as commissioner of Duk County and replaced him with Peter Latjor Chuol.

He also dismissed the commissioner of Bor County Yuot Alier and replaced him with James Tuor Kur.

In Unity State, Kiir sacked the state minister of parliamentary affairs Tabuom Jany Rial and replaced him with Mathiang Dak Chol.

A separate decree also removed David Gai Jiejor as minister of culture, youth and sports and was replaced with John Yien Kuol.

Kiir also dismissed the information minister Gabriel Kon Makuany and replaced him with Jiejor who has been acting as information minister since 2021. The president went on to remove Lam Moses as health minister and replaced him with Kai Riek.

Kiir also named Angelina Thomas, wife of prominent Unity State politician and former lawmaker Hon. Andrew Bol Nhial as the state minister for cooperative and rural development.

Kiir also removed Gen. Larka Machar Turoal as the chairperson for human rights commission and replaced him with Gattiek Both Chiengjok.

Laraka who is now the chief of staff for General Simon Gatwech Dual’s forces was a former governor for the defunct Northern Liech State.

He was appointed as chairperson of the human rights commission following the return to 10 states and refused to take up the position before fleeing to join the SPLM-IO Kitgwang in 2021.

Kiir in another decree also removed David Bapiny Ruot and Kuijang Kuol Gew as members of the human rights commission and replaced them with Samuel Maping Gatluak and David Machot Gatduot.

Soul Jal Baba was removed as a member of conflict resolution and reconciliation commission and replaced with Suleiman Ber.

Kiir also removed Peltek Geng as member of the employees’ justice chamber and replaced him with Biel Mot Lochaak.

In anther decree, Kiir confirmed the appointment of Gen. John Bol Mayak as commissioner of Mayom County.